To Be a Mother

I found this on a blog, and I feel that is perfectly describes what I am feeling right now.

I recently heard something really beautiful. While my friend was resting in between labor contractions, her midwife told her that some Native American tribes believe that it’s during those quiet times, between all the hard work, that the woman is actually out searching through the stars for the soul of her child.

The day of Aurora’s birth was a day of many emotions. I am not quite sure how to put it into words exactly, other than it was a feeling of absolute love. It was physically trying, emotionally exhausting, and incredibly spiritual. However, as I was going through this life changing process, I felt an indescribable connection with this little person I hadn’t met. It was as if my life was missing a small piece, and she was that piece. She made us a family.

Aurora is a beautiful girl with a beautiful soul. I like to think I felt that when I was waiting to meet her for the first time.

This Mothers Day, I am blessed.

Image

“May I say to mothers collectively, in the name of the Lord, you are magnificent. You are doing terrifically well. The very fact that you have been given such a responsibility is everlasting evidence of the trust your Father in Heaven has in you.” -Jeffrey R. Holland

